Amit Basole
Associate Professor Azim Premji University

Amit Basole is Associate Professor of Economics at the School of Arts and Sciences, Azim Premji University. He has previously taught at the University of Massachusetts, Boston and Bucknell University. He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Amit’s research combines quantitative and qualitative methods to address poverty and inequality, the structure of the Indian economy, and the economics of informal knowledge. Prior to switching to Economics Amit completed a Ph.D. in Neuroscience from Duke University where his research on the neurophysiology of the mammalian visual system was published in journals such as Nature and Progress in Brain Research. He tweets @amitbasole and his website is here. Click here for his CV.

Research Fellows

Paaritosh Nath
Research Fellow Azim Premji University

Paaritosh has a PhD from the Centre for the Study of Regional Development, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi. His research looked at the dynamics of work, technology and skills as they play out in the Automobile industry of the National Capital Region (NCR). Prior to joining CSE, he was working as a research fellow with the Karwan-e-Mohabbat. His areas of interest include trajectory of growth of industrial labour markets in India, impact of labour laws on employment and processes of skill acquisition and upgradation.

Surbhi Kesar
Research Fellow Azim Premji University

Surbhi’s research areas include political economy of development, particularly informality, exclusion, and structural transformation in labor surplus economies. Her work has appeared in the Review of Radical Political Economics and the European Journal of Development Research. She is a doctoral candidate in Economics at South Asian University, New Delhi and was a Fulbright Fellow at University of Massachusetts, Amherst during 2017–18. Her work has received awards at the Regulating for Decent Work Conference, ILO, Geneva and from the Indian Society of Labour Economics. She is an organiser for the Economic Development Working Group of the Young Scholars Initiative-Institute for New Economic Thinking and a member of the Decolonising and Diversifying Economics initiative.

Rosa Abraham
Research Fellow Azim Premji University

Rosa completed her PhD  from the Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bangalore. Her research focused on forms of informal labour in India, examining the rise of informalisation in the formal/organised sector and the consequent impacts on productivity and inequality. Prior to her PhD, she worked at Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and Environment and taught at Madras School of Economics.  Her research interests include understanding workers’ preferences for alternative work arrangements, the changing nature of informal work and implications for job polarisation in the Indian context.

Faculty Fellows

Rajendran Narayanan
Assistant Professor Azim Premji University

Rajendran is an Assistant Professor in the School of Arts and Sciences at Azim Premji University, Bangalore. He holds a Ph.D in Statistics from Cornell University. Along with Sakina Dorajiwala and Rajesh Golani, he is a founding member of LibTech India. LibTech India is an informal group of researchers and activists that work on questions of transparency and accountability in MGNREGA and the Public Distribution System. The group is engaged with various national rights-based campaigns such as the National Campaign for People’s Right to Information and the Right to Food Campaign. They work closely with several civil society organisations in Jharkhand, Bihar, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Andhra.

Arjun Jayadev
Associate Professor Azim Premji University

Arjun is a Professor of Economics at the School of Arts and Sciences at Azim Premji University in Bangalore, India. He was previously Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Massachusetts Boston. He is also closely involved with the Institute for New Economic Thinking. He has a PhD in Economics from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. Arjun’s research straddles macroeconomics, especially issues of debt, balance sheets, the political economy of finance and central banking and macroeconomic policy choices, income distribution and inequality, in particular classical approaches to distribution, and group based inequalities, intellectual property and the economics of power, He has also been closely involved with the CORE economics project.

Deepti Goel
Assistant Professor Azim Premji University
Deepti Goel is a faculty member at the School of Arts and Sciences, Azim Premji University, Bengaluru, India. She is also a research fellow at IZA-Institute of Labor Economics, and at Global Labor Organization (GLO). Her main areas of research are Applied Empirical Econometrics and Labor Economics. Some of her recent and ongoing research projects include estimating labour supply, cohort analysis in labour markets, health effects of pollution, measuring teacher quality and perceptions of minority groups. She received her Ph.D. in economics in 2009 from Boston University. 
Rahul Lahoti
Assistant Professor Azim Premji University

Rahul is Visting Faculty at Azim Premji University. His research focuses mostly on issues of poverty, inequality, labor, gender and political economy. He is interested in understanding women’s participation and experiences in labor markets in India. He holds a Ph.D. from the University of Göttingen, Germany and a Masters in Public Administration from Columbia University, New York.

Anand Shrivastava
Assistant Professor Azim Premji University

Anand teaches economics at the School of Arts and Sciences, Azim Premji University. His research includes theoretical and empirical studies of conflict, and of the effects of informal institutions and norms on economic processes, specifically labour markets. He has a PhD in economics from the University of Cambridge.

Affiliated Researchers

Kade Finnoff   View Profile
Jayan Thomas   View Profile
Deepankar Basu   View Profile
Anumeha Yadav   View Profile
Uma Rani   View Profile
Sabina Dewan   View Profile
Santosh Mehrotra   View Profile
Shouvik Chakraborty   View Profile
Rohit   View Profile
Anuradha Talwar   View Profile
Aseem Shrivastava   View Profile
Rajesh Bhattacharya   View Profile
R. Nagaraj   View Profile
Jayati Ghosh   View Profile
Jeemol Unni   View Profile
Radhicka Kapoor   View Profile
A. Srija   View Profile
Nayan Jyoti  
Amit Chakrabarty  
Sharmishtha Sen  
Nandana Sengupta   View Profile